Tranche one of the UC rollout

DWP have confirmed the LA's that will be in "tranche one" of the 2015 roll out.

It is expected that this will just include single new claims (there is a suggestion from hbinfo members that it could include childless couples).


"As part of tranche one, we will be expanding across four existing local authorities where we are currently live. These authorities are; Flintshire, Highland, London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham and Rugby.


I am therefore pleased to say that the 73 local authorities who will roll out Universal Credit for the first time in tranche one will be:


Ashford, Barnsley, Basildon, Bassetlaw, Bedford, Birmingham, Boston, Brecklands, Brentwood, Calderdale, Chesterfield, City of Edinburgh, Colchester, Corby, Craven, Darlington, Daventry, Dudley, Dumfries & Galloway, Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, East Staffordshire, Erewash, Forrest Heath, Hambleton, Harborough, Hartlepool, Hasting & Rother, Hereford, Hinckley & Bosworth, Litchfield, London Borough of Barnet, London Borough of Brent, London Borough of Hounslow, London Borough of Tower Hamlets, London Borough of Wandsworth, Maidstone, Melton, Mendip, Mid Lothian, Neath Port Talbot, Newcastle, Newcastle-under-Lyme, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, North Somerset, Oxford City, Redditch, Ryedale, Scottish Borders, Sedgemoor, Shropshire, South Kelveston, South Oxfordshire, South Somerset, Southampton, Southend, Stratford, Suffolk Coastal, Swale, Swindon, Tamworth, Taunton Dean, Tendering, Thurrock, Torfaen, Vale of White Horse, Waveney, West Oxfordshire, West Somerset, Wiltshire, Wrexham and York.


We will be looking to work with all other local authorities on the development of the roll-out schedules for tranches two, three and four. Colleagues will be in touch shortly to begin this process with the aim of completing and publishing these schedules in due course".